New Recipes

January 16, 2014

Finally the cold snap has broken and we are enjoying some near seasonal temps. With the warmer weather has come some awesome hoarfrost.

Jan 11 2014_Hoarfrost view of lake

Jan 11 2014_Hoarfrost

Cabin in the Winter

Cabin in the Winter

After the excitement of Christmas its nice just to kick back and enjoy some comfort food. I stumbled across this blog – Kitchen Treaty – last week and have tried a couple of their recipes:

Roasted Root Vegetables in Thai Red Curry
I tried the vegetarian version of this one out on company this weekend and it was a hit. What I liked best about it was it had an abundance of flavorful sauce and just the right amount of kick. I plan to make it again next week.

Banana Bread Muffins
I made a batch this week to share with my meditation group. The recipe calls for 1 cup unbleached white and 1 cup whole wheat flour but I substituted with 2 cups whole grain spelt flour with very good results. Moist and flavorful. I made a gluten free batch last night by substituting the 2 cups flour with 2/3 cup sorghum flour, 2/3 cup quinoa flour, 2/3 tapioca flour and ½ tsp xanthium gum. They have the same great taste and consistency as the spelt ones. Will try out on my Mom and sister this week.

Toasted Coconut Smoothie
The recipe is for a smoothie and contains ground flax. I subbed out the flax for 3 TBSP chia seeds and let it sit for an hour to make a Toasted Coconut Chia Pudding. Excellent!

Power Berry Smoothie
The recipe calls for cranberries but I substituted raspberries and used coconut milk instead of almond milk. I also kicked it up a notch by adding a handful of kale. Intense berry flavor.

I also tried the following recipe from The Kitch:

Best Ever Beet and Bean Burgers
The problem with this recipe is that it calls for about 1 pound of beets. Since I left my kitchen scale at the lake, I was guessing how much beets that was. I ended up with about 2 cups of grated beets. Since I wasn’t using the egg, I added 2 TBSP ground flax to the grated roasted beets and didn’t bother to squeeze the excess liquid out of the beets. I let it sit overnight in the fridge – a good tip for making veggie burgers that stick together well. I fried up a couple the next day and while they were good they weren’t exactly what I was looking for. I added about 1 cup of ground walnuts to the mix and fried up the rest. I liked them much better. Next time I would reduce the beets to about 1 cup and add 1 cup ground nuts.

About Darlene & Ken

Experiencing life off the grid, building a home, and trying to live sustainably.
This entry was posted in Cooking Class, Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

