Farmers’ Markets and Marvelous Manitoba Products

August 15, 2015

I love Farmers’ Markets and am lucky to have one right on Donald Street every Thursday during the summer. I can escape during lunch hour and get my shopping done, buying fresh local products.

Although I have my own large organic garden, there are often products at the market that I don’t grow. I have not yet mastered the art of organically growing brasicas, so I am happy to pay a bit extra for local organic cabbage, kale, cauliflower and broccoli. In addition, these savy marketers can have their produce ripe before I can, so the market allows me to get a head start on tasty garden fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, etc.

This week’s score at the market was organic cabbage (I plan to try making sauerkraut this weekend), ripe red tomatoes, cucumbers (sadly I will not have my own cucumber crop this year), kale (must have my weekly kale fix) and a lovely eggplant (which I cubed, tossed in olive oil, sprinkled with S&P and oven roasted for use in a stir fry).

The Donald Street Farmer’s Market has also introduced me to other marvelous Manitoba products. My favorites are:

• Homemade soaps from Whipped Cosmetics – they look and spell heavenly and are not drying on your skin. http://www.whippedcosmetics.com/soaps.html

• Natural Deodorant from Siglarr Viking Naturals. I have been using this product for 3 weeks now and found it to be the most effective natural deodorant I have every used. Five star rated by me. http://www.siglarr.ca/deodorant.php

• Manitoba Mist – a natural bug repellant that is pretty effective. The mosquitoes are epic this year. I spray this on before hitting the garden, berry picking or heading out for an evening dog walk. It’s effective, safe, natural and smells good too. Although it works well I find that reapplication every half to one hour is necessary, a small price to pay for a deet-free repellant. http://aurorafarm.ca/2014/07/manitoba-mist-cbc/

• Bug Off Balm – This week’s score at the market. I had a great chat with the charming lady selling natural body butters last week. I make my own body butter (since using up Christopher’s Christmas gift of homemade body butter I am sold on making my own) but have decided to give her Bug Off Balm a try. It contains yarrow and tea tree oil in an olive oil base. I love that it’s packaged in a mason jar. She works on an organic farm and says it really works. Effectiveness report to come.

About Darlene & Ken

Experiencing life off the grid, building a home, and trying to live sustainably.
This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, Home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

